Den Haag

EU representation office of Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam & Utrecht

The four major Dutch cities: Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam and Utrecht – have an EU representation office in Brussels.

This EU Office was established in 2003, when the European Union had become ever more important for large cities in Europe, with administrative powers increasingly shifting from national governments to the European Union.

The EU Office is an integrated part of the national political and technical co-operation of the four cities aiming to promote their interests.

Our office is located in the heart of the European district in Brussels, in the “House of European Cities”. The four Dutch cities share offices with regional and local representations such as 13 other European cities and representative organizations like EUROCITIES and CEMR.

The main objective is to monitor EU policy and legislative developments. It is crucial that future regulations and policy frameworks reflect the interests of the cities and their inhabitants; this includes a (pro)active response to European proposals and the agenda setting of priorities with an EU dimension. Efforts therefore continue to focus on strengthening our network and intensifying effective relationships with Europe’s political representatives, administrators and various interest groups, including other local and regional EU offices in Brussels.